Posted in Cycling Road

First Dutch win of the season by van Poppel

Danny van Poppel just won the first stage in the Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana. It is the first Dutch win of the season. In the last six seasons, The Netherlands had won a least once in January.

First Dutch win of the season
2018 | 31.01 | Danny van Poppel | Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana: stage 1
2017 | 29.01 | Bauke Mollema | Vuelta a la Provincia de San Juan
2016 | 20.01 | Peter Koning | Tour de San Luis: stage 3
2015 | 25.01 | Wouter Wippert | Tour Down Under: stage 6
2014 | 30.01 | Wouter Wippert | New Zealand Cycle Classic: stage 2
2013 | 24.01 | Tom Jelte Slagter | Tour Down Under: stage 3
2012 | 10.02 | Michel Kreder | Tour Méditerranéen: stage 2
2011 | 06.02 | Lars Boom | Tour of Qatar: prologue

Posted in Cycling Road

January in facts and figures

  • John Degenkolb did race two races in January. Both races ended for him in a win: Trofeo Campos, Porreres, Felanitx, Ses Salines (1.1) and Trofeo Palma (1.1).
  • Thanks to the victories of John Degenkolb, Trek-Segafredo is the most successful team in January.  The American formation did win 5 races in January.
  • The half of all World Tour teams have one or more wins in 2018 season.
  • The most successful country in January is Australia with 10 wins.
  • Youcef Reguigui has the most podium places in January (6), but mostly in .2 races. Daryl Impey has five podium places in Pro races1.

Posted in Cycling Road History

HISTORY: Magnus Backstedt

On 30 January 1975 is Magnus Bäckstedt born. He’s the only Swedish rider to win a Monument 1.

Bäckstedt became pro in 1996 at the Belgium formation Collstrop-Palmans. After two seasons, with a victory in the GP d’Isbergues, he leaves to GAN. During that season GAN renamed to Crédit Agricole. In 1998 Tour de France he wins stage 19 in Autun, where he defeats his fellow attackers Maarten den Bakker, Eddy Mazzoleni and Pascal Demare in the sprint.

He stayed three more years at Crédit Agricole but due to lack of success, he had to leave at the end of 2001 and found a place at Team Fakta. In 2003 Giro d’Italia he won the Intergiro classification and gets a contract at Alessio. By the Italian formation, Bäckstedt blossomed again in one-day races. He became second in Gent-Wevelgem and four days later he surprised with a win in Paris-Roubaix.

After this success, he moved to Liquigas. He rode three years for the Italian formation but didn’t have much success. His last season as a pro cyclist he rode for Garmin-Chipotle. With this formation, he won the opening team time trial in the 2008 Giro d’Italia.

Nowadays Bäckstedt is a pro cycling coach at his own Bäckstedt Cycling Academy and has a development team: Team Bäckstedt HotChillee.

Posted in Cycling Road History

HISTORY: Gaston Rebry

On 29 January 1905 was Gaston Rebry born. He is the only rider to win Paris-Nice, Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix in one season. He did this in 1934.

Long before Roger de Vlaeminck was Rebry named as Monsieur Paris-Roubaix. He won the French classic three times and stood in total four times on the podium. In the Tour de France he won four stages and became fourth in the general classification in 1931. After he headed, together with Jef Demuysere, the historical offensive against Antonin Magne on the cobblestones of the last stage but one of the Tour, between Charleville and Maloles-Bains. Rebry won the stage, but Magne won the Tour the day after.

On 3 July 1953 at the age of 48, he died in Wevelgem. His son, Gaston Rebry (1933-2007), was also a pro cyclist but after the death of his father, he quit and emigrated to Canada where he became a successful landscape painter.

In 2010 Gaston Rebry became an honorary citizen of his birth village Ledegem (Rollegem-Kapelle).

Posted in Cycling Road History

HISTORY: Bruno Sivilotti

This week the peloton races the Tour de San Luis in Argentina. Argentina doesn’t have a rich history in pro-cycling. The most successful riders from the South American country are Juan Jose Haedo and Ariel Maximiliano Richeze but in the fifties and sixties, there was Bruno Sivilotti. Sivilotti was born on 26 August 1936 in Ragogna, Italy. Ragogna is a small village in the region Friuli-Venezia Giulia, but Sivilotti gets the Argentinan nationality.

Sivilotti starts his career in on the track in South America where he won the six days of Rio de Janeiro in 1956 with the Italian Severino Rigoni. In January 1957 they also won the six days of Sao Paulo and in July 1957 he won the six days of Buenos Aires with Hector Acosta.

A few years later he goes to Europa to ride for several Italian teams. He won a couple of stages in smaller Spanish tours and he won the first part of the first stage in La Vuelta a Espana 1966. A 110-kilometer long stage around Murcia. In the same Vuelta he ended third in stage 6. In that year he gets his only road race win outside of Spain, on June 20 he won Erembodegem – Terjoden in Belgium.

He ended his career in 1969 and neutralized to Italian. On 27 January 1982 at the age of 45, he died in Madrid, Spain.