Posted in Cycling Road Tour de France

105th Tour de France in facts and figures

Geraint Thomas has won the 105th Tour de France. He’s the first Welshmen to do so and the third British winner after Bradley Wiggins (2012) and Christopher Froome (2013, 2015, 2016, 2017).

This was Geraint Thomas’s 9th participation. The only rider to win his first Tour de France after more participations was Joop Zoetemelk in 1980. The Dutchman won at his 10th participation.

Thomas is the second rider to win the Tour de France wearing bib number 8, after Jan Ullrich in 1997. His teammate and winner of 1996, Bjarne Riis started with bib number 1.

Tom Dumoulin is the first Dutch rider on the podium of the Tour de France since Erik Breukink in 1990. Breukink was third in 1990 after Greg Lemond and Claudio Chiappucci.

Tom Dumoulin and Chris Froome became the first riders to reach the podium in the Giro and Tour in the same year since Marco Pantani won both races in 1998. The last time that two riders stood on the podium in both races was 1994, with Miguel Indurain Larraya (1st in Tour, 3rd in Giro) and Marco Pantani (3rd in Tour, 2nd in Giro).

Chris Froome ended for the 11th time on a podium of a Grand Tour. Only Felice Gimondi (12), Bernard Hinault (12), Eddy Merckx (12) and Jacques Anquetil (13) rode more Grand Tour podiums in their career.

Peter Sagan won the points classification for the sixth time. He equalled Erik Zabel, who won the points classification six times between 1996 and 2001. Sagan broke also Zabel’s record of most stages in the green jersey. Sagan has now received 106 green jerseys in the Tour de France.

For the first time since 1982, Netherlands had two riders in the top 5 of the final classification. Then Joop Zoetemelk (2nd), Johan van der Velde (3rd) and Peter Winnen (4th), now Tom Dumoulin (2nd) and Steven Kruijswijk (5th).

Tom Dumoulin is the second Dutchmen to ride podium in two Grand Tours in one year after Joop Zoetemelk in 1979.

Tom Dumoulin and Steven Kruijswijk joined Bauke Mollema and Erik Breukink as Dutch rider to ride top 10 in all Grand Tours.

Dutch riders have won three Tour de France stages in a single year for the first time since 2000 (4 wins).

Colombia equalled their record of stage wins in a single year. Just like in 1985, with Fabio Parra en Luis Herrera (2), they won three stages in this Tour.

Sylvain Chavanel finished his 16th Tour de France and equalled Joop Zoetemelk as the rider with the most Tour de Frances finished.

Lawson Craddock is the first rider in history to hold the lanterne rouge from the first until the last stage.