Posted in Cycling Road

Richie Porte second Australian to win Tour de Suisse

Richie Porte has become the second Australian rider to win the Tour de Suisse. In the year Richie Porte was born, 1985, Phil Anderson was the first Australian rider to win the Swiss race.

Porte is also the second rider after Eddy Merckx, who has won Paris-Nice, Volta a Catalunya, Tour de Romandie and Tour de Suisse in their career.

Australian riders with a win in Tour de Suisse
2018 | Richie Porte
1985 | Phil Anderson

Posted in Cycling Road

Fourth podium for Porte in Tour Down Under

  • Richie Porte ended second in Tour Down Under. It’s his fourth podium in the World Tour race. Before today only Stuart O’Grady ended four times on the podium in Tour Down Under.
  • Daryl Impey is the first South African rider to win the title.
  • Impey is the fourth oldest rider to win the Tour Down Under. At 33 years and 46 days, only Simon Gerrans (33 years 255 & 35 years 253) and Patrick Jonker (34 years 245) were older.
  • Andre Greipel won the last stage. This was his 18 stage win in Tour Down Under.
  • Greipel today won a record fifth stage 6 at the Tour Down Under. Greipel now leads Robbie McEwen who has four wins on the final day.
  • The average speed for the 2018 Tour Down Under was 39.064 km/h, the third slowest in race history ahead of only 2001 (38.760 km/h) and 2012 (38.700 km/h).