Posted in Cycling Road Vuelta a Espana

73rd Vuelta a Espana in facts and figures

Simon Yates has won the 73rd Vuelta a Espana and Great Britain has won all three Grand Tours this year. Great Britain is the third country to do so after France in 1964 and Spain in 2008. Great Britain is the first country to do this with three different riders.

Great Britain is the first country since the start of Vuelta history to win five consecutive Grand Tours. Italy is the last country to win 5 successive Grand Tours in 1924-1926 (only Giro & Tour).

Yates is the second British rider to win the Vuelta a Espana after Chris Froome last year.

It is the youngest podium of a Grand Tour since Giro 1965. Yates, Mas and Lopez have an average age of 24.8. The youngest Grand Tour podium was in Tour 1904 with an average age of 22.4.

Elia Viviani claimed seven stage wins in a Grand Tour this year, most for a rider in a single year since Mark Cavendish won 7 in 2013.

Thomas de Gendt is the first Belgium rider to win a mountain classification in a Grand Tour since Lucien Van Impe in Tour de France 1983 and the first to do so in Vuelta a Espana.

Steven Kruijswijk is the first Dutch rider to ride top 5 in all three Grand Tours.

5Steven Kruijswijk454
6Tom Dumoulin126
7Erik Breukink237
7Bauke Mollema764
15Peter Winnen8315
15Gert-Jan Theunisse15411
16Hennie Kuiper1625
17Cees Haast17145
17Wim van Est131317
23Robert Gesink2356
27Laurens ten Dam2798
28Wout Poels12286
29Stef Clement231829
30Gerben Karstens233021

It’s the first time Bora-Hansgrohe didn’t win a stage in a Grand Tour after promoting to World Tour.

Only eighteen riders didn’t finish this Vuelta. This means 89,77% of the riders made it to the finish, this is the highest percentage ever in the history of Vuelta a Espana.